IT Laboratory at Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Activities and research


The Italian Thought Network – Low Countries (ITN-LC) has emerged from the Idealab ‘The Biopolitical Condition’ at KU Leuven, an interdisciplinary research group investigating the relevance of biopolitical theory in literary studies, political philosophy, cultural studies, etc. Over the years this developed into a network of researchers of Italian Thought in Belgium and the Netherlands.

Past research activities include:

-An international conference in Leuven on ‘Immunity and Modernity: Picturing Threat and Protection’ (2015)

-The publication of a special issue in De Uil van Minerva on the contemporary (ir)relevance of biopolitical theory (eds. Jens De Vleminck & Stijn De Cauwer, 2017)

-The publication of a book with Columbia University Press called ‘Critical Theory at a Crossroads: Conversations on Resistance in Times of Crisis’ (ed. Stijn De Cauwer, 2018)

-An international workhop in Leuven on ‘Italian Philosophy and the Problem of Potentiality’ (2018)

L’Italian Thought Network – Low Countries (ITN-LC) è stato fondato dall’Idealab ‘The Biopolical Condition’ presso l’Università cattolica di Lovanio. E’ un gruppo interdisciplinario che studia la rilevanza della teoria biopolitica nelle letteratura, la filosofia politica, i cultural studies ecc. Dopo alcuni anni si è sviluppato in una rete di ricerca in Belgio e nei Paesi Bassi specializzata nell’Italian Thought.

Tra le attività di ricerca:

-Un convegno internazionale a Lovanio su ‘Immunity and Modernity: Picturing Threat and Protection’ (2015)

-Una pubblicazione ne De Uil van Minerva sulla (ir)relevanza della teoria biopolitica contemporanea (eds. Jens De Vleminck & Stijn De Cauwer, 2017)

-La pubblicazione di un libro presso Columbia University Press che si chiama ‘Critical Theory at a Crossroads: Conversations on Resistance in Times of Crisis’ (ed. Stijn De Cauwer, 2018)

-Un convegno internazionale a Lovanio su ‘Italian Philosophy and the Problem of Potentiality’ (2018)

People


 

Coordinators

De Cauwer, Stijn stijn.decauwer@kuleuven.be
Joost De Bloois J.G.C.deBloois@uva.nl
Tim Christiaens t.christiaens@kuleuven.be

 

Members/membri

Sonja Lavaert Sonja.Lavaert@vub.ac.be
Pascal Gielen pascal.gielen@uantwerpen.be
Guilel Treiber guilel.trieber@kuleuven.be
De Boer, Ype y.m.de.boer@vu.nl
Alessandro Mulieri alessandro.mulieri@kuleuven.be
Monica Jansen m.m.jansen@uu.nl

 


Associated members/membri associati

Simons, Massimiliano massimiliano.simons@kuleuven.be
Joris Vlieghe joris.vlieghe@kuleuven.be
Saskia Kroonenberg saskia.kroonenberg@gmail.com
Mathijs Van De Sande M.vandeSande@ftr.ru.nl
Rachelle Gloudemans  rachelle.gloudemans@student.uva.nl
Rudi Laermans  rudi.laermans@kuleuven.be
Alina Achenbach alina.achenbach@student.kuleuven.be
Michael Lewis Michael.Lewis@newcastle.ac.uk
Stef Vanmolkot stef.vanmolkot@gmail.com
Ruben Hordijk ruben.hordijk@student.kuleuven.be
Jonas Rutgeerts jonas.rutgeerts@kuleuven.be
Kim Hendrickx kim.hendrickx@kuleuven.be​
Qian Liu
Nicholas Schneider

 

 

Site


https://thebiopoliticalcondition.wordpress.com

Contacts


 

De Cauwer, Stijn stijn.decauwer@kuleuven.be
Joost De Bloois J.G.C.deBloois@uva.nl
Tim Christiaens t.christiaens@kuleuven.be